Faculty of Medicine

The faculty’s purpose is to offer its students comprehensive theoretical and experiential knowledge of the human body in normal or pathological conditions and provide them with sufficient scientific training that will later help them in their career.

Minimum required duration of study: twelve (12) semesters.

History of the Department

The Faculty of Medicine of the University of Ioannina was established in 1977 under law 641/77 (OGG 200/A/1977).
During the academic year of its establishment (1977-1978) the School comprised of 5 elected faculty members and 86 students.

Today*, 38 years after its establishment, the faculty comprises of:

162 faculty members
1263 enrolled undergraduate students
112 postgraduate students
708 PhD candidates

*July 2016

  • Ioannis Georgiou, Professor

  • Anna Batistatou, Professor

Contact information

Secretary: Maria Kapitopoulou

Faculty of Medicine Secretariat
Administration Building, 1st floor
University of Ioannina
45110 Ioannina

Phone: (+30) 26510 07481, 07246, 07521, 07436, 07924, 07246, 07517, 07201
Fax: (+30) 26510 07019
E-mail: medgram@cc.uoi.gr

Postgraduate Study

Postgraduate Courses with secretarial support from the UoI Department of Medicine

  1. Basic Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Course offered by the Department of Medicine, School of Health Sciences
  2. Biotechnology (Interdepartmental course in cooperation with the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Biological Applications and Technology)
  3. Pathology Nursing (Inter-university course in cooperation with the Department of Nursing, TEI of Epirus)
  4. Pain Management (in cooperation with the General Department of Basic Medical Courses, Faculty of Health and Caring Professions, TEI of Athens. Secretarial support provided by the Department of Medicine.


Postgraduate Courses in cooperation with the UoI Department of Medicine

  1. Medical-Radiation Physics (Inter-university course organized by the School of Medicine, University of Athens, in cooperation with the Department of Medicine, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, the Department of Medicine, University of Thrace, the Department of Medicine, University of Ioannina, the Department of Medicine, University of Crete, and the Department of Physics, University of Athens, in cooperation with the Greek Atomic Energy Commission (EEAE) and “Democritus” National Centre for Scientific Research)
  2. Medical Chemistry (Interdepartmental course, organized by the Department of Chemistry)

The above Postgraduate Courses award Master’s Degrees.

Doctoral Studies

Doctoral Study applications are welcome from holders of a Master’s (MSc) Degree. Graduates of Departments of Medicine and the Department of Biological Applications and Technology (5 years of study) do not need to hold a Master’s Degree to be admitted for doctoral research. Under exceptional circumstances, and following a substantiated decision by the Special Composition General Assembly, a graduate of another Department who does not hold a Master’s Degree may be accepted as a doctoral student. Graduates of Technological Educational Institutes, the Higher School of Education and Technical Training, or equivalent Schools may only be accepted as doctoral students provided they hold a Master’s Degree.

An applicant who is interested in writing a PhD dissertation must submit a relevant application to the Secretary of the Department of Medicine by filling in a special form.

The following supporting documents must be attached to the application:

  1. Copy of Bachelor’s Degree
  2. Copy of Master’s Degree (if applicable)
  3. Curriculum Vitae
  4. Copies of scientific publications or papers (if applicable)

Holders of a Bachelor’s or Master’s Degree from a foreign university must submit a confirmation from the National Academic Recognition Information Centre (DOATAP) certifying equivalence to those granted by Greek universities.
Please note that we will not consider applications that do not include all necessary supporting documents.